Daniel Belden (Warren County) offered the following Resolution and moved its Adoption:

INTERCOUNTY LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE OF THE ADIRONDACKS

RESOLUTION NO. 6 OF 2009

RESOLUTION TO JOIN THE NEW YORK STATE ASSOCIATION OF TOWNS AND OTHER COUNTIES IN SEEKING COUNTY LEADERSHIP AND SUPPORT FOR FISCAL RESPONSIBILITY BY STAYING WITH LEVER VOTING MACHINES

WHEREAS, for many decades, InterCounty Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks has successfully used mechanical lever-style voting machines, with very few problems, and is desirous of continuing to do so, and

WHEREAS, New York State enacted the Election Reform and Modernization Act of 2005 (ERMA) and other laws that require all lever machines to be replaced and prohibit the use of any lever machines in an future elections in New York State, and

WHEREAS, the InterCounty Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks believes that the continued used of lever-style voting machines is in the best interest of the public and should be permitted to be used in future elections, and

WHEREAS, it is the opinion of this Board that if the State of New York replaces lever voting machines with optical scanner systems, the cost to county taxpayers will be insurmountable, not covered by Help Americans Vote Act (HAVA) funds, and the payment; thereof, will severely strain and possibly break the budgets of all counties in this time of economic crisis, and

WHEREAS, the expense of the computerized voting systems is exorbitant and will no doubt increase annually and there will be uncertain costs and expenses, none of which exists with the current lever machine and Ballot Making Device machines, and

WHEREAS, New York State now has an accurate and reliable electoral system using the leverstyle voting machines, and

WHEREAS, the New York State legislation relating to voting machines far exceeds the federal requirements of HAVA, and

WHEREAS, the State's statutorily required elimination of lever-style voting machines is unnecessary, inappropriate and costly to county taxpayers and in these difficult economic times, the cost to implement elections with these new machines will not be paid by New York State and is an unfunded mandate; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, that the InterCounty Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks hereby joins with the New York State Association of Towns and other counties seeking and supporting the continuation of our lever voting machines, together with Ballot Marking Devices, and opposing the use of a computerized voting system, as the computerized voting system will be a huge expense and undertaking in all counties during this time of economic uncertainty, and be it further

RESOLVED, that the InterCounty Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks hereby requests the New York State Legislature and the New York State Board of Elections to enact laws, rules and regulations as specifically authorized to continue the use of lever-style voting machines and be it further

RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the New York Association of Towns, New York State Association of Counties, Election Transparency Coalition, Governor David Paterson, New York Senate Majority Leader Malcolm A. Smith, Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, Assembly Minority Leader Brian Kolb, Senator Elizabeth O'C. Little, Assemblywoman Teresa R. Sayward, Assemblywoman Janet Duprey, the Executive Directors of the New York State Board of Elections, Todd Valentine and Stanley Zalen, New York State Board of Elections Commissioners, James Walsh, Douglas Kellner, Evelyn Acquila and Gregory Peterson, United States Senators Charles Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand, United States Members of Congress, John McHugh and Scott Murphy and Warren County Board of Supervisors.

Seconded by Ralph Bentley (Warren County) and unanimously carried.

May 21, 2009

Notes added by Teresa Hommel, May 28, 2009:

The vote was unanimous. Participating counties in the Intercounty Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks are: Clinton County, Essex County, Fulton County, Hamilton County, Herkimer County, Lewis County, St. Lawrence County, Saratoga County, Warren County, and Washington County.