Town of Greenburgh

RESOLUTION

June 4, 2009

RESOLUTION OF THE GREENBURGH DEMOCRATIC TOWN COMMITTEE SUPPORTING ENACTMENT OF LAWS, RULES, AND REGULATIONS THAT SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZE THE CONTINUED USE OF LEVER-STYLE VOTING MACHINES, AND

REFERRAL OF THIS RESOLUTION TO THE FULL NYS DEMOCRATIC COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, for many decades those areas represented by the Greenburgh Democratic Town Committee have successfully used mechanical lever-style voting machines with very few problems, and is desirous of continuing to do so; and

WHEREAS, New York State enacted the Election Reform and Modernization Act of 2005 (ERMA) and other laws that require all lever machines to be replaced and prohibit the use of any lever machines in any future elections in New York State; and

WHEREAS, the Greenburgh Democratic Town Committee believes that the continued used of lever-style voting machines is in the best interest of the public and should be permitted to be used in future elections; and

WHEREAS, the New York State legislation relating to voting machines far exceeds the federal requirements of HAVA (Help America Vote Act); and

WHEREAS, the State's statutorily required elimination of lever-style voting machines is unnecessary, inappropriate, and costly to taxpayers;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Greenburgh Democratic Town Committee hereby requests the New York State Legislature and the New York State Board of Elections to enact laws, rules, and regulations that specifically authorize the continued use of lever-style voting machines; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Greenburgh Democratic Town Committee recommend adoption of this Resolution by the full NYS Democratic Committee; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Governor David Paterson, NYS Senate Majority Leader Malcolm Smith and NYS Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, Co-Executive Directors of the New York State Board of Elections Todd Valentine and Stanley Zalen, and New York State Board of Elections Commissioners James Walsh, Douglas Kellner, Evelyn Aquila and Gregory Peterson.